“Arcadia shows the burgeoning talent of yet another emerging female choreographer, Ruth Brill… She is certainly on the rise.”

Graham Watts, Critics’ Circle

“Brill is establishing a career as a choreographer. Peter and the Wolf shows a sharp eye for movement and storytelling.”

Zoë Anderson, The Independent

“Brill's Peter and the Wolf is a gem of a dance – it's funny and packed full of character and yet still ensures a great deal of technical skill from its cast.”

Weekend Notes Magazine

Rural Retreat 2020: Future Artistic Directors & Creative Producers For Dance


DanceEast is one of England’s leading dance organisations based at the Jerwood DanceHouse. Since 2003, DanceEast has been producing the internationally respected Rural Retreats. These think tanks have been bringing together leaders and future leaders from the world of dance to look at key issues facing dance and its leadership and how we move forward in the 21st century. The Retreats were the first global opportunity for existing and future Dance leaders to come together to share their visions, challenges and concerns in an environment that conducive to open discussion and debate.

DanceEast’s next Rural Retreat in January 2020 is for individuals who aspire to lead a Ballet or Contemporary Dance Company or Organisation. It will take place 3-6 January In Ipswich, Suffolk, England.

This is an intensive think tank that will be facilitated by two professionals with guest speakers from the worlds of the arts, media, sport and business. The aim of the retreat is to provide an environment for aspiring Dance leaders to gain insights into the multi-facetted role of a leader in today’s ever-changing challenging world – from the digital revolution and globalization; to #MeToo; and nationalism and diversity in all its forms. The retreat will cover the role of dance companies and their dancers in society and the relationship with audiences and broader society, amongst a range of topics.

The delegates for the 2020 retreat are: Abigail Reeve (Birmingham Royal Ballet); Avatâra Ayuso (Ava Dance Company); Dan Daw; Emma Southworth (Royal Opera House); Iván Pérez (Heidelberg Ballet); Jarkko Lehmus (Cirko); Javier Torres (Northern Ballet); Joanna Ivey (National Ballet of Canada); Kit Holder (Birmingham Royal Ballet); Leanne Benjamin; Martin Hylton; Martynas Rimeikis (Lithuanian National Ballet); Nicholas Ziegler (Finnish National Ballet); Peter Leung (Dutch National Ballet); Ruth Brill (Birmingham Royal Ballet); Seeta Patel; Sofiane Sylve (San Francisco Ballet); Stella Abrera(American Ballet Theatre); Tara Birtwhistle (Royal Winnipeg Ballet); Teresa Reichlen (New York City Ballet); Tim Casson (Casson & Friends); Urja Desai Thakore (Pagrav Dance); Yael Flexer (Flexer & Sandiland); and Zhibo Zhao (Beijing Dance Academy).